Hue’s Reviews: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

It’s not often that I read a book, expecting one thing based on its blurb, and foreclosing on an entirely different experience. Yet, when such an occurrence sits on my doorstep, I sing its praises until my voice no longer roars. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo stole my voice and I’m happy for the theft.

Evelyn Hugo’s a fading movie star. She’s loved. She’s lost. She’s gained pleasures for which others dream. But, she’s more than a celluloid image on-screen. She’s deeper than tabloids blubber. She’s someone you’ll wish asked your hand in shadowing their lives.

When this book’s promotion began, I expected glamour, passion, sex, and hot Old Hollywood gossip. A throwaway and easy read. Don’t allude that none of these aspects occur in the tale. They do. But, they occur in a story more complex and rich than the blurb describes.

Simply put: I found myself in love with her. For many of us, in a certain community, we’ve yearned for such a tale, and by grace, we have it.

Without giving too much away regarding this tale, and it’s hard because a main plot point would spoil the entire book, Taylor Jenkins Reid offers a story of a woman’s journey through sex, sexuality, secrets, hope, love, loss, and personalities. Each husband, introduced by a personality trait, offers a freeway exit coursing Evelyn’s road to self-discovery. She’s not immediately likable, which enamored me. There’s nothing clean or fresh about her. She rattles your nerves and brings you to your knees as you beg for more.

All I can recommend is to read this book. It’s one of the best 2017 offered. It’s lush, rich, surprising, beautifully tragic, stunning…

Ugh! I’ll stop. Take my word for its value. This book’s a killer to one’s soul. Reid nailed a tasty tale for readers willing to drown themselves, not in misery, but in glory and delicious abandonment.

I read this book on Overdrive.com. But, my word, I’m adding this tome to my collection. Try and stop me.

Read on!

crafty2

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I am so happy that you loved this book! It is one of my favourites of 2017 too! I hope more people read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I adored this book and cannot recommend it more than I have already. Like you, I want more people to read it. It’s enthralling.

      Like

Leave a Reply

