The Book Blogger Test

Hump Day! Hump Day! Hump Day! Hopefully, you’re getting over this day sooner than later. To add some speed, Mischenko nominated me. Thanks, Lovey! Check out her awesome blog as soon as you can. Since I’m a sucker for a good tag, why not throw some joy my way this week.

collage-2017-09-28

Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog

  2. Answer the ten questions asked on this post

  3. Nominate at least five people to do it also.

  4. Let your nominees know you nominated them

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Describe your perfect reading spot.

If I had my way, I’d say as a guest in my favorite hotel (I Love This Place) during a rainy evening while watching Bake Off and sipping tea. But, until that day approaches again, I’ll take my bedroom during a rainy evening and under a cozy blanket, while watching Bake Off and sipping tea.

  days rainy GIF

Close enough…

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Tell us three book confessions.

  1. I cannot read outside. I cannot read in a park. I cannot read in my yard. I cannot read Crafty I Am. Too much distraction, sun, and noise. #firstworldproblem

  2. I “inherited” books from borrowing and not returning them. By the time I remember to return them, the lenders moved away without asking for their books back. Hypocritical, I know, considering I don’t lend books. Maybe good reasoning knowing my own behavior.

  3. When I read a book based in London or the U.K., I read characters’ dialogue in their accents. Yes, I even differentiate accents by location: RP, Mancunian, and even Liverpudlian. My accent game’s on point.

 british GIF

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

When was the last time you cried during a book?

The last time I cried happened when I read What We Lose. Without giving any spoilers, she loses someone special, which triggered past feelings experienced. Good book, by the way.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

How many books are on your bedside table?

Three. Two nonfiction books on writing, plus one book I plan to read this week.

The Girl I Used to Be

Usually, I have more, but when I finish them, they go back on the bookshelf.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

What’s your favorite snack to eat while you’re reading?

One or two cups of Earl Grey, three sugars and a dash of milk, plus either a frozen soft pretzel (Native-born Philly girl!) or a pastry of some kind.

 tea chai shai kamranzaib GIF

How is that not tantalizing?

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Name three books you would recommend to Everyone

The Handmaid's Tale

Read this book as soon as possible. I cannot believe I let this book linger on my shelves. Watch the t.v. adaptation afterwards to fully grasp its complexities. Talk about enthralling, desperate, and scary, alongside topical and pertinent for today’s climate.

Akata Witch (Akata Witch, #1)

I’m not big on the fantasy genre, but I enjoy magical realism here and there. This book engulfs you as you open the page and journey into this girl’s world. She’s an albino Nigerian and American girl, hesitant to start her magical destiny’s path. It’s been compared to Harry Potter, which is unfair, as I found this book more engaging (I prefer HP’s movies to books) and realistic, if I can say that about a book based in magical realism. Its sequel, Akata Warrior, arrives Tuesday. Support both books. They’re well-worth your time, energy, and funds.

Their Eyes Were Watching God

Another book with magical realism sprinkled throughout, Zora Neale Hurston’s classic immerses you into Janie Mae Crawford’s free-spirit in a society condemning others for expressing, living, and loving their truth. All five senses will dance upon each page. You’ll feel Florida’s humidity. Taste seafood enjoyed. Hear gossip chattering. See Janie Mae’s long hair – the envy of fellow women. Smell impending rain. Why wouldn’t you want that descriptive lushness in your life?

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Show us a picture of your favorite bookcase on a bookshelf.

 reaction tom cruise secret hiding hide GIF

Not Gonna Happen! Other than privacy reasons, my bookshelves are tsunamis within themselves.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Describe how much books mean to you in just three words.

Knowledge is Power

 books the middle GIF

I’m off to nominate some folks. But, if I don’t reach you, please feel free to participate and tag others.

Happy Reading and Tagging!

crafty2

Leave a Reply

