Stacks on Stacks: August

Boo! Summer’s about over. Yadda. Yadda. Yadda. We “officially” have one month left. But, school’s around the corner and work’s nipping at my neck, so yeah. Boo!

As I mentioned before, I’m dealing with a slight slow-down. Maybe the book I read last month urged me to slow. I read some heavy subjects, requiring me to think amidst heatwaves. Terrible mix.

However, with a new month comes new reading joys, lighter fare, and a brand-new TBR pile. Join me.

The Assistants

Rule #1: All important men have assistants. Rule #2: Men rule the world. Still. Rule #3: There is enough money. There is so much money. 

Featuring an eclectic clan of co-conspirators, a love interest far too handsome to be trusted, and a razor-sharp voice full of wry humor, The Assistants is a rallying cry for the leagues of over-educated and underpaid women who are asking themselves, How is it that after all these years, we are still assistants? – Penguin Random House

I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway. While it’s a bit slow in the beginning, the humor’s there. I look forward to finishing and reviewing this book.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met. – Goodreads

After reading her first novel, The Upside of Unrequited, I finally plan to read her second novel. I’ve heard nothing but accolades (Careful! Careful!) and I hope they pay off.

Story of O

How far will a woman go to express her love? In this exquisite and taboo novel of passion and desire, the answer emerges through a daring exploration of the deepest bonds of sensual domination. “O” is a beautiful Parisian fashion photographer, determined to understand and prove her consuming devotion to her lover, René, through complete submission to his every whim, his every desire.

It is a journey of forbidden, dangerous choices that sweeps her through the secret gardens of the sexual underground. From the inner sanctum of a private club where willing women are schooled in the art of subjugation to the excruciating embraces of René’s friend Sir Stephen, O tests the outermost limits of pleasure. For as O discovers, true freedom lies in her pure and complete willingness to do anything for love.

I plan to juxtapose this book with another tale about sexuality. I heard about this book for year. With this opportunity, I want to see if its infamy survives.

Virgin

Okay, I admit it…I didn’t do it.

Yet.

This is normal, right?  I mean, just because everyone I know has talked like they’ve already done it doesn’t mean that they’re telling the truth…right?

It’s not like I’m asking for that much. I don’t need the perfect guy. I don’t need candlelight or roses. Honestly, I don’t even need a real bed.

The guys I know complain that girls are always looking for Mr. Right—do I have to wear a sign that says I’m only looking for Mr. Right Now?

Sooooo…anyone out there want sex? Anyone? Hello? Just for fun?

I am not going to die a virgin. One way or another I am going to make this happen.

Hey, what have I got to lose? Besides the obvious. – Goodreads

I’m new to New Adult fiction. I could not tell you which books make-up this genre. But, while visiting a bookstore, the title, premise, and cover snatched my attention. So, why not venture into a new genre/demographic?

Short list, right? I tend to pick random audiobooks and short stories along the way. August works me out. On my plate alone: my fifth-grader returns to school (Happy 10th Birthday!!), my oldest son starts college, my wedding anniversary, I go back to work (teaching), and my mother’s visiting from Philadelphia. My plate’s full, but I won’t abandon reading…at all.

What’s on your list this month? Feel free to share below.

Happy Reading!

 

Image Credit

Leave a Reply

