It’s A Wrap! July

July’s gone. Summer’s flying. My children return to school. I return to work. My alarm clock retrieves attention. I’m battling a slowdown, but I’m reading nevertheless.

July Book Revelations

  • Adding short stories and audiobooks enhance my reading experiences. I treated audiobooks like a pariah. “Listening’s not the same as reading.” WRONG! Children learn to listening (As a teacher, I know this truth. As a reader, snobby behavior enhances no one’s life.) Thankfully, I shut my inner reading snob’s mouth and found new avenues to read. I’m satisfied.
  • It’s okay to slow your roll during summer. I believed with the extra time came extra incentive and energy to read. NOPE! July’s midst showed the importance of listening to my body, my brain, my eyes, and my calendar. I had a lot on my plate (including writing and my active children). SLOW DOWN! A good reader is a healthy reader. So, for the summer’s remainder, one book a week, along with an audiobook and a short story or two, works best for my well-being and schedule.
  • Movies continue to stink and using books as fodder to feed the Hollywood machine won’t solve its issues.

Ready for some reading data?

Total # of pages read: 1885

Total # Physical Books ReadFull Cicada Moon by Marilyn Hilton  What We Lose by Zinzi Clemmons  Bad Romance by Heather DemetriosThe Mothers by Brit Bennett

Total # of audiobooks: 9 (I read the short stories below as I listened to their aural components)

Total # of short stories: 8

July’s Short Story Sunday, Chapter I

July’s Short Story Sunday, Chapter 2

July’s Short Story Sunday, Chapter 3

Total # of E-books: Paper Butterflies by Lisa HeathfieldHue’s Reviews: Paper Butterflies

The Address by Fiona  Davis   Hue’s Reviews: The Address

Total # of ARCS (Advanced Reading Copies): 3

Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield  The Address by Fiona  Davis  When We Were Worthy by Marybeth Mayhew Whalen

Total # of DNFs (Did Not Finish): 2 When We Were Worthy by Marybeth Mayhew Whalen and When Dimple Met Rishi *Will read later

First Book ReadA Rose for Emily by William Faulkner

Last Book ReadFull Cicada Moon by Marilyn Hilton

Overall Book Rating: 3.91

Highest Rating: Short stories nabbed the honor: “A Rose for Emily”; “A Jury of Her Peers”; “The Monkey’s Paw”; “The Necklace” = 5

Lowest Rating: Another short story: “Trial By Combat” = 2

Favorite Short Story: “A Jury of Her Peers”

Favorite Audiobook: “A Rose for Emily”

Favorite Book: Bad Romance and What We Lose (Tie)

July kept me busy. August’s looks promising, but slower. How was your July reading list? Productive? Slow? Favorites? Any DNFs?

Feel free to leave a comment below and share your thoughts.

Happy Reading!

Image Credit

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I was so wary of audiobooks but now I’m relying on them when I have to stay in the car for hours! I find it harder to review the stories, though!

    Like

    1. Audiobooks used to be a reading pariah for me. If I didn’t have the words in front of me, I’d doze. They work better for short stories and short novels. Anything longer and I’m gone.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

