Don’t Call It It Slump-back!

No. I swear I’m not slumping. I’m slowing. Big difference.

I’m slumping with style.

Slowping.

While I’m not in an exact slump, I’m noticing a major slow down. Usually, I read anywhere from sixty to one hundred pages a day. Lately, that number’s diminished to forty to fifty. Not a big deal, I suppose. Summer’s a time to relax. I should heed those words without guilt.

But, I feel guilty.

To combat a full-on slump, I will commit to three actions.

  1. I will read at least forty pages until the feeling’s gone by dividing those pages into sections. Twenty at time twice a day? Sounds good.
  2. Listen to an audiobook. If someone’s reading to me, I’m still reading.
  3. Read light work. For example, read a short story or two. Or, read a book without heavy issues (e.g. social justice, pain).

Overall, I’ll relax. This too shall pass like any other book feeling (e.g. book hangovers). No big deal.

Right?

How do you manage the onslaught of an impending slump? Share below in a comment.

Happy Reading!

Crafty

