Monday, Monday, So Read-y To Me…

Good Monday, Everyone!

How did your weekend go? Fast? Exciting? Slow? Wakey. Wakey. Time to experience another week.

All I seek is quiet and calm during mine. However, with two kids and a husband, asking is all I’m granted. Yet, with books and a cup of tea by my side (What you think I stop drinking tea because the air outside resembles a sauna? Nevah!!!!), my quiet finds me.

As a matter of fact, my youngest son grants me peace and quiet for four hours. Why? SUMMER CAMP!! If you’re a mom, believe in the power of summer camps. Sure, the kids receive academic enrichment, swimming, and arts and crafts. But, the silver lining for us includes more time to read, no fights over the last popsicle, and having kids so drained and pooped, they beg for naps.

Glory be to summer camps!

Anyway, along with my weekly novels, I add about five short stories or audiobooks to the mix for diversity and new reading experiences. Keep reading fresh, fun, and free from slumps! *Knock on wood*

What I Read Last Week

Paper Butterflies by Lisa HeathfieldPaper Butterflies

Bad Romance by Heather DemetriosBad Romance

Benedict Cumberbatch reads Ian Kelly's Casanova by Ian KellyIan Kelly’s Casanova

The Storm by Kate Chopin Desiree's Baby by Kate ChopinThe Story of an Hour by Kate ChopinA Jury of Her Peers by Susan GlaspellThe Intoxicated by Shirley JacksonA Rose for Emily by William FaulknerShorties

What I’m Reading This Week

The Mothers

In entrancing, lyrical prose, The Mothers asks whether a -what if- can be more powerful than an experience itself. If, as time passes, we must always live in servitude to the decisions of our younger selves, to the communities that have parented us, and to the decisions we make that shape our lives forever. – Goodreads

When Dimple Met Rishi

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways. – Goodreads

*I’ll read more shorties. Since I adore the thrill of the chase, I have no clue which ones yet.

What Have I Brought into My Book Lair?

One pre-order on its way!!

What We Lose

From an author of rare, haunting power, a stunning novel about a young African-American woman coming of age—a deeply felt meditation on race, sex, family, and country

Raised in Pennsylvania, Thandi views the world of her mother’s childhood in Johannesburg as both impossibly distant and ever present. She is an outsider wherever she goes, caught between being black and white, American and not. She tries to connect these dislocated pieces of her life, and as her mother succumbs to cancer, Thandi searches for an anchor—someone, or something, to love.

In arresting and unsettling prose, we watch Thandi’s life unfold, from losing her mother and learning to live without the person who has most profoundly shaped her existence, to her own encounters with romance and unexpected motherhood. Through exquisite and emotional vignettes, Clemmons creates a stunning portrayal of what it means to choose to live, after loss. An elegiac distillation, at once intellectual and visceral, of a young woman’s understanding of absence and identity that spans continents and decades, What We Lose heralds the arrival of a virtuosic new voice in fiction. – Goodreads

What’s on your book mind this week? Feel free to share below.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Monday, Monday, So Read-y To Me…

  1. The Hubs and I don’t have kids, but I would totally believe in the power of camps if we did! Also, as a kid, some of my favorite childhood memories were at soccer camp- and I only did the day camp part of it, I would have loved to stay away!

    I have When Dimple Met Rishi on my TBR, just need to make time for it. This week I’m reading books mostly pertaining to my bookstore job. I’m on the 4th Iron Druid book by Kevin Hearne because he’s doing a signing at our store tonight, and Thursday I’m moderating a Young Adult author panel with Jodi Lynn Anderson, Sarah Mlynowski and Adele Griffin (I’m finishing up her book Be True To Me today), and then I’m reading Cold Summer by Gwen Cole for another YA panel next month. I kind of love when books I want to read also count as “work”.

    Like

    • Some of my fondest summer memories involved day camp. I wish I attended a going-away camp. But, I had fun nevertheless. Music and arts & crafts filled my heart with joy. Also, we had a summer mobile van that came twice a week lending us books to read. At each summer’s end, we selected a book to keep. I remember “Tales of the Gold Monkey” as one.

      I dnf’ed When Dimple Met Rishi. Cute, but another book snatched my attention. Let me know how it goes with you. Working in a bookstore’s a dream for me. Maybe it’ll come true. Working in a bookstore in an international city’s even sweeter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

