Best Books I’ve Read in 2017 So Far…

Thanks to The Broke and The Bookish for hosting this weekly meme! This week’s theme: Best Books I’ve Read in 2017.

Torture. I tell ya. Creating this week’s theme evokes torture. But, I’m treading lightly as best as I can. I guess I’ll practice for my inevitable 2017 end-of-year top 20! Ugh.

How will I create my list? Genre breakdown? Debut authors? Veteran? How about a giant love fest of whatever raised my spirits so far this year? Yeah. That’s the ticket.

Young Adult

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis The Female of the Species January

Piecing Me TogetherPiecing Me Together  March

 

The Hate U Give The Hate U Give  March

Modern Classics

Sula Sula February 

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston Their Eyes Were Watching God April

Mystery/Thriller

The Roanoke GirlsThe Roanoke Girls  February

Final Girls by Riley SagerFinal Girls June        

Fantasy

Akata Witch (Akata Witch, #1) Akata Witch  June

Middle Grade Fiction

Brown Girl Dreaming Brown Girl Dreaming  March

Adult

White Fur White Fur  May

To sum up this dreadfully hard list to create (I read many great books so far), March, followed by March and June, had a bit of a lock for good books read this year. Furthermore, young adult fiction snatched my attention, while I pushed myself to read a fantasy tale (Well worth the effort!) and modern classics proved to go forward, you might want to go backwards a bit.

I notice my list is female-heavy and I’m not complaining. Maybe I find female writers perk my interest more. I hope that’s not sexist. But, I think male authors miss the mark quite a bit when writing female characters. Maybe a male author will spark my interest later this year. Get to work, gentlemen!

Finally, writing a top 20 list will be difficult. I know one list perquisite will be that the book must earn at least 4 stars to be considered. I’ve read a bit of 4-star rated books. My work’s cut out for me.

What are some good books you’ve read so far this year?

6 thoughts on “Best Books I’ve Read in 2017 So Far…

  1. I few of these are on my TBR pile- Female of the Species, Final Girls and Roanoke Girls. The Hate U Give made my top ten too. I read Another Brooklyn, but I still need to read Brown Girl Dreaming, but I’m hoping to get to it soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

