Posted in Bookish Thoughts, Memes

Top Ten Tuesday: My Summer 2017 TBR

(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.)

Cute pedicures. Cool glasses of lemonade. Chic sundresses and sandals. Summer’s coming. Well, that’s almost every day of the year (I live in Southern California, sue me!).

But, for those pining for summer’s kiss, it’s arriving fast.

For readers, summer’s promise brings more time to relax and read. My TBR’s an avalanche (I’m not complaining). But, I’ve created a list of ten books, I definitely plan to read.

However, I do have some rules for reading this summer.

  • Nothing too deep. Summer’s for relaxing, right?
  • Fast pace. Summer brings me extra time, but the season also brings extra distraction (e.g. my children are home, festivals, bright sunshine). I need to read fast.

Here goes…

  1.  Image result for when dimple met rishiWith graduation behind her, Dimple’s ready to take charge of her life. However, her mother has other plans, including an arranged marriage with the “ideal Indian husband”. Hilarity ensues.

2. Image result for Ramona blue A coming of age story about Ramona’s trek against those desiring to box her and towards what she wants. Controversial in some eyes, but worthy of a read.

3.Image result for one of us is lyingThursday afternoon. Detention. Five teens. One dies. Hilarity ensues. Okay. Never mind my snark. Forget The Breakfast Club.

4. Image result for Dumplin' Another Julie Murphy book. Not too shabby. Big girls deserve their shining moment too.

5. Image result for the paris apartment book What lies inside a beautiful Paris apartment? Treasures and collectibles in plain sight and within an auctioneer’s heart.

6. Image result for big little lies book You know the show. Perfect veneers hide sinister truths. This summer I’m finally tackling this story. No. I haven’t seen the show either.

7. Another coming of age within the confines of 1970s Brooklyn. Joys. Trials. Tribulations. Daily life spilled on the page.Image result for another brooklyn

8.Image result for Conversations with Friends bookComplicated women. Complicated lives. The ride’s worth every minute.

9. Image result for the breakdown book Sometimes we cannot trust ourselves…

10. Image result for Lies She Told bookTruth makes a dark competitor to fiction.

Okay, I broke rule #1. With a myriad of great books published, it’s hard not curve myself. What are you reading this summer? Whatever you pick, grab a cold drink, paint your toes, and enjoy the sun’s rays.

Happy Reading!

Crafty

Author:

Hello Everyone, I'm Latanya aka Crafty Scribbles. I'm a reader. Well, obviously this is a book blog. Reading and enjoying the process is a must. Why not share my joy with others like me - or unlike me, pleasant conversation and all being key? What's there to know? Well, along with reading, I write stories. I'd like to publish them (I've published poetry, which is cool, too). But, until I do, I hope to share my views on the writings of others. In my personal life, I teach as well as work as a wife and mom to two boys (Yes, these count as work, too!). I currently live in a Los Angeles suburb, but I travel and my mind expands to to other places on the globe. Care to join me? I promise to be fair, honest, and respectful. I'm not here to cut fellow writers. But, I do believe in sharing critiques that help others to grow. So, if you're looking for drama, I'm sorry I can't help you with that request. I hope you enjoy your stay whoever you are.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Summer 2017 TBR

  1. I just finished Big Little Lies and it is amazing! I saw the show before I read the book and was surprised to see that the show was almost identical to the book. Not a lot of adaptations are that faithful haha. Hope you enjoy it!
    Conversations With Friends sounds like such a unique story. Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

