Posted in Bookish Thoughts

May 2017 TBR

With a myriad of choices knocking at my door, I chose five books (more or less) to read.

  • White Fur by Jardine Libaire (ebook/Penguin’s First To Read arc). I wish I had this book in printed form. I’m loving its story. Its fire burns my soul. White Fur
  • Paper Girls Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughn (Mine!). After hearing a lot of good noise about this graphic novel, I bought the book. Graphic novels never see the light of day with me. I patronize their film or t.v. adaptation, but never read them. How odd, right? Well, a good reader leaves his or her comfort zone and picks a form or genre untouched. Also, the story’s setting – 1988 – and characters’ age (12) gave me instant nostalgic connection (My age during the same year). I couldn’t resist.  Paper Girls

Continue reading “May 2017 TBR”

Posted in Memes

Top Ten Tuesday #1: Top Ten Things Pushing Me to Read a Book

Two weeks ago, I introduced myself to a Top Ten Tuesday I enjoyed reading, created by Broke and Bookish as its original host. However, this week I’m going rogue by using the first of two I never got to do (but really wanted to enjoy).

My first Top Ten Tuesday, I’m presenting “Top Ten Things Pushing Me to Read a Book.”

Plenty of reasons whisper in our ears as we walk the hallowed aisles of our favorite bookstores or shop online.

What are some of yours?

Let’s get started.

1. Psychological Thrillers. Mash suspense, thrills, and unreliable characters and I’m good to go. The creepier the better. If my skin crawls, I’m invested. Take my money!

Product Details

2. Realistic Fiction. Give me real people, real moments, and real pain (or happiness I can budge). Fantasy? No thank you.

Product Details

3. Great Representation Towards People of Color, LGBTQA, and Any Individual Under-represented in Books. I’m an enthusiastic proponent for diversity. More stories means never running out of perspectives, tales, and characters to cry, laugh, or throw books at walls over as we read. Keep ’em coming!

Product Details


4. Strong Women. When I mean strong, save the damsels in distress for other readers. They’re not my thing. When I mean strong, I’m not necessarily talking about weight-lifters. I’m talking about those female characters capable of a shred of common sense and intelligence within a tale. Does she have to do things on her own like a badass? No. But, I’ll take it.

Product Details

5. Good and Honest Reviews. I trust 3 or 4 star reviews before I trust 5 stars and those with a sole star. Sometimes those latter reviews omit fair criticisms, leading to over-hyped and underwhelming books, while the one star reviews lead to confusion when those books turn out average or good.

Product Details

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday #1: Top Ten Things Pushing Me to Read a Book”