Posted in Hue's Reviews

Hue’s Reviews: Seven Ways We Lie

Seven deadly sins.

Personified.

This tale demonstrates what happens when teens and their sins manifest around scandal and discovery. All living life in high school. All succumbing to their wicked and deceitful ways.

I won’t spoil who’s who. Presented in multiple perspective, I found more fun discovering the teens’ matching sins, which kept me engaged in this quick story. Each kid received their own chapter – some more than others, which hurt the tale a bit. Relatable, even devastating throughout the tale. No one’s clean and there are consequences held because of those sinful personalities. No one’s glorified.

For example, Claire demonstrated an healthy sense of self despite her promiscuity. Many YA novels attempt to slut shame or make a girl feel her sexuality depends on a relationship with THE guy. I’d love this book to work as a conversational tool against slut shaming. Time will tell.

Well, I’m screwed.

Furthermore, an additional enjoyable aspect is LGBTQA representation with the characters. I won’t tell, but you have a pan-sexual, an out character, and another questioning where he or she stands.

Unfortunately, I have to share the book’s downsides. One, Redgate illustrates pan-sexuality as an aspect of Greed. Wrong move. Repeatedly, pan-sexuals hear “Oh, you’re just greedy. You want everyone.” Why put those demeaning words in your book? Tone deaf.

Also, the ending’s too quick and clean for a book discussing how unclean teens can be towards each other. Friends become enemies and resume their friendships by the final word. It’s okay to have friends no longer remain so at the end. Let’s make the trope happen. But, I wonder if she had to give a clean resolution since she spent 60% of the book not focusing on the scandal or their teens’ unification. Honestly, they spent 60% apart than together. By the time the kids truly link, I shrugged and waited for the ending. I detest dishonest book blurbs, which appear to not know their books at all.

Chewbacca disagrees with Redgate’s shenanigans. You should too.

Last, but not least, I didn’t read any healthy parental relationships from anyone. Give me at least one parent. I guess Claire and Kat’s would be healthy, but he acts too late for me. When I mean late, I mean the next to last chapter.

All in all, I did enjoy the book. But, a promising premise deserved more heart and better pacing. A book blurb’s meat should never happen late in the book. I’m stuck between 3 and 3.5. Maybe I have a touch of sloth at the moment. I’ll leave my rating there.

 

Author:

Hello Everyone, I'm Latanya aka Crafty Scribbles. I'm a reader. Well, obviously this is a book blog. Reading and enjoying the process is a must. Why not share my joy with others like me - or unlike me, pleasant conversation and all being key? What's there to know? Well, along with reading, I write stories. I'd like to publish them (I've published poetry, which is cool, too). But, until I do, I hope to share my views on the writings of others. In my personal life, I teach as well as work as a wife and mom to two boys (Yes, these count as work, too!). I currently live in a Los Angeles suburb, but I travel and my mind expands to to other places on the globe. Care to join me? I promise to be fair, honest, and respectful. I'm not here to cut fellow writers. But, I do believe in sharing critiques that help others to grow. So, if you're looking for drama, I'm sorry I can't help you with that request. I hope you enjoy your stay whoever you are.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

